The Committee was established in 1961. The areas of activities are: science on human nutrition, dietetics, health prevention in human populations, physiology and pathology of nutrition, nutritional assessment, nutrition of children and teenagers, nutritional education.

The Committee on Human Nutrition Science is a National Committee to do with International Union of Nutritional Sciences (IUNS). The member of the Committee, prof. dr hab. Małgorzata Schlegel-Zawadzka is a Council Member. (
The Committee coordinates cooperation with Federation of European Nutrition Societies (FENS). Its Polish representative, prof. dr hab. Jadwiga Hamułka, prof. SGGW is a Committee member and a chairperson of Polish Society of Nutrition Sciences. Prof. dr hab. Małgorzata Schlegel-Zawadzka is a Task Force coordinator ( Committee contributes to the work of European Academy of Nutritional Sciences (EANS); prof. dr hab. Anna Gronowska-Senger is a Polish representative in the EANS and has also been a Vice President of this organization in 1995-2004.
The Committee cooperates with Polish Society of Nutrition Sciences, Polish Society of Food Technologists, Polish Society of Hygiene, Polish Society of Dietetics and many other scientific institutions which deal with the disciplines represented by the Committee.